He will serve as president of the Indian Meteorological Society during 2014-16.

Head of the Climate Change Programme at the Department of Science and Technology, Akhilesh Gupta, has been elected as President of the Indian Meteorological Society for 2014-16. He succeeds Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences.

Starting his career as Meteorologist at the Indian Meteorological Department in 1985, Dr. Gupta has rich academic and professional experiences. His career includes a spell as Secretary to the University Grants Commission during 2012-13. He also served as Advisor to Kapil Sibal, when he was the Minister for Science and Technology.

The other office-bearers who have been elected are: Ajit Tyagi and B.Mukopadhyay Vice Presidents, K.J.Ramesh Secretary, K.K.Singh Treasurer and S.C.Bhan Joint Secretary.

Established in 1956, the Indian Meteorological Society is a non-profit organisation that promotes the advancement, dissemination of knowledge and application of meterorological and related sciences. Its actvities including organising meetings, and lectures on important meteorological topics on a regular basis.

More In: National | News | Delhi