Jarnail Singh, who once flung a shoe at P. Chidambaram, will contest from West Delhi

The Aam Aadmi party’s first list of candidates for the coming general elections, put out on Sunday, also includes banker Meera Sanyal who will contest for the Mumbai South seat held by Minister Milind Deora, RTI activist Mayank Gandhi will stand from Mumbai northwest and Habung Peyang from Arunachal West. Alok Agrawal of Narmada Bachao Andolan will take on Subhash Yadav in Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh.

Former journalist Jarnail Singh, who flung a shoe at Finance Minister P. Chidambaram seeking justice for the 1984 Sikh riots victims, will contest from West Delhi held by Mahabal Mishra.

AAP leader and political thinker Yogendra Yadav will contest from Gurgaon (Haryana), Vijay Pandhare from Nasik (Maharashtra), Lingaraj from Bargam (Odisha), farm leader Yogesh Dahiya from Saharanpur, scientist Jiyalal Ram from Lalganj and Khalid Pervez from Moradabad, represented by former cricketer Mohammad Azaruddin.

Releasing the names after a meeting of the Political Affairs Committee, party leader Manish Sisodia said the AAP’s aim was to send honest people to Parliament and keep out the corrupt with criminal and dynastic background. The party will soon publish its second list.

More In: National | News