The Congress romped back to power in Manipur for the third consecutive time with a clear majority, helped by a fragmented opposition.

The Congress on Tuesday secured absolute majority in the Manipur Assembly elections. In the 60-member House, the party secured 42 seats. This will be for the third consecutive time the party will come to power. In 2007, it secured 30 seats and in 2002 20.

The Trinamool Congress, which contested 47 seats, won 7 seats. The Manipur State Congress Party secured 5 seats and Nagaland-based Naga People's Front got 4. The LJP and the NCP won one seat each.

The Manipur People's Party, which had five MLAs, and the CPI, which had four MLAs, failed to retain even a single seat.

The BJP could not win a single seat this time too.

New faces

There are 25 new faces this time, including three women.

Ministers P. Parijat, D.D. Thaisii, Alimuddin Khan, L. Jayentakumar and chairman of the Manipur Planning Board Bijoy Koijam were defeated.

Chief Minister O. Ibobi Singh has submitted his resignation. His re-election as the next CLP leader is merely a question of formality. But there are moves to wrest the leadership with the support of the MLAs who were not inducted in the Council of Ministers in the past.