The Congress on Friday nominated 15 of its most articulate members to participate in television debates and discussions. They include three former chairpersons of the party's media department, Central Ministers Ghulam Nabi Azad and Ambika Soni and senior leader Girija Vyas. The naming of Mr. Azad, party sources say, is particularly significant as it marks his growing importance in party affairs — he is also being credited with dousing the flames in Andhra Pradesh.

The 15-member panel, announced by Congress media chairperson Janardan Dwivedi, includes several other Union Ministers — Pawan Kumar Bansal, C.P. Joshi and Jairam Ramesh — party spokespersons Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Manish Tewari, Jayanti Natarajan, Mohan Prakash and Shakeel Ahmed. Others authorised to participate in TV discussions include Renuka Chowdhury, P.C. Chacko, Raj Babbar and Sanjay Nirupam.

More In: National | News