All 13 Andhra Pradesh ministers from Telangana region on Friday faxed a common letter to AICC President Sonia Gandhi stating that they have decided to resign from the government on the statehood issue.

The ministers met Chief Minister K Rosaiah at the Secretariat and informed him about the decision.

Later, P Lakshmaiah, Sabita Reddy, D Sridhar Babu and other ministers said they have appealed to the Centre to announce a clear cut time frame for formation of a separate Telangana state.

They said Union Home Minister P Chidambaram’s statement on December 23 putting the Telangana issue on the backburner was “confusing“.

They also said they would seek an appointment to meet Ms. Gandhi soon.