In a bid to remove flaws in the Prevention of Torture Bill, 2010, 10 Opposition members of the Rajya Sabha on Friday gave notice for an amendment motion on the Bill to refer it to a select committee of the House. The Bill, passed by the Lok Sabha on May 6 without any change, has not been vetted by any committee.

The notice for referring the Bill to a selectcCommittee, which will go through the entire procedure of consultation as a standing committee relating to the Ministry concerned would, was moved by Brinda Karat (CPI-M), Prakash Javdekar (BJP), D. Raja (CPI), N.K. Singh (JD-U), Brijesh Pathak (BSP), Mohan Singh (SP), Mysura Reddy (TDP), Barun Mukherji (All-India Forward Bloc), V. Maitreyan (AIADMK) and Bhalchandra Mungekar (Nominated).

According to Ms. Karat, the notice was admitted.

The notice, she said, would now be considered when the Bill is brought to the House by the Home Minister for consideration and passing.

More In: National | News