The African Union (AU) has admitted South Sudan as its 54th member, marking another recognition for the world’s newest nation.

The African Union said it received the requisite number of written communications, including from Sudan, supporting the admission of South Sudan to the continental body as the 54th AU Member State.

South Sudan got its independence from Sudan on July 9 following decades of conflict that left millions dead.

Its sovereignty officially broke Africa’s largest nation into two, the result of a January referendum overwhelmingly approved by voters.

South Sudan is the latest addition to the AU since Eritrea joined in 1993 following its split from Ethiopia.

South Sudan became the 193rd member of the United Nations on July 14.


12 killed as Sudan bombs refugee camp November 10, 2011

More In: International | News