Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N has emerged as the single largest party in Pakistan’s landmark general elections with 122 of the 272 Parliamentary seats but fell short of a majority and would form a government with support of independents and smaller parties.

The PML-N’s two closest rivals — the Pakistan People’s Party and Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf — lagged far behind with 31 and 26 seats respectively.

The Election Commission announced the results for only 250 parliamentary seats, saying results were awaited from 18 constituencies in Balochistan, Punjab and Sindh provinces and the tribal areas.

Earlier, trends emerging from the counting of votes had shown that the PML-N led by former premier Sharif was set to bag about 125 seats.

A total of 137 directly elected seats are needed for a majority and the PML-N is expected to form government at the centre with the backing of independent candidates and one or two smaller parties.

Another 70 seats, reserved for women and non-Muslims, will be allocated to parties according to their performance in the polls.

To have a majority in the 342-member National Assembly, a party or coalition will need 172 seats.

The Senate or upper house of the parliament is currently controlled by the PPP.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement, which had been a key partner in the last PPP-led government, bagged 16 seats while Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam won 10 seats in the National Assembly.

The the Jamaat-e-Islami and the PML-F won three seats each while the PML-Q, the Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and the National People’s Party bagged two seats each.

The Awami National Party, the Qaumi Watan Party-Sherpao, the Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan, former military ruler Pervez Musharraf’s All Pakistan Muslim League, the Awami Muslim League, the Balochistan National Party, the National Party and the PML-Z won one seat each.

Independent candidates bagged 25 seats.