Continuing the recent understanding, the three major political parties on Friday divided important committees of the Constituent Assembly (CA) between themselves.

Two other committees went to Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum Nepal and CPN-Samyukta. All five heads of the committees were elected unopposed.

UCPN (Maoist) leader and former prime minister Dr. Baburam Bhattarai was elected unopposed to the Committee for Constitutional and Political Dialogue and Consensus Building, considered the most important among the five committees.

Similarly, Nepali Congress’ General Secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula is to head the Constitutional Drafting Committee and the CPN-UML’s General Secretary Bishnu Poudel would lead the Committee to Study and Determine Constitutional Records.

Likewise, Laxmi Chaudhary of MJF Nepal was elected to head the Committee on Capacity Building and Resource Management and the Committee on Citizen Relations and Public Opinion Collection is to be led by CPN-Samyukta’s Pramila Rana.

Controversial Bill passed

A government-introduced Bill on forming a Truth and Reconciliation Commission and a Commission on Disappearance to investigate conflict-era crimes and abuses was passed on Friday night after some individual lawmakers from ruling parties withdrew their amendment proposals.

The Bill has attracted serious opposition with its emphasis on “reconciliation” and pardon.

Critics said the Bill violated a recent Supreme Court directive which said no pardon should be given in cases of serious crimes and gross abuses of human rights.

Keywords: Nepal politics


Nembang elected Nepal CA chair againFebruary 19, 2014