“Nawaz Sharif will be your prime minister,” said his younger brother Shahbaz Sharif as their party surged ahead in the Pakistan polls.

The Sharif brothers addressed their workers and supporters to announce their victory, reported Dawn.

“Nawaz Sharif will be your (the people’s) prime minister and I will be your servant,” said Shahbaz Sharif as the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz emerged as the single largest party.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML- N), led by former prime minister Nawaz Sharif, is leading in the general elections, initial results suggested late Saturday night.

The PML—N is in lead with 115 National Assembly seats, over its arch rivals the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), reported Xinhua.

Sharif’s party is ahead mostly in Punjab, the country’s most populated province and also the stronghold of the PML-N.

The trend shows that PML-N is likely to get simple majority for formation of the government in centre. But the party will need support of other parties for a comfortable majority and a stable government.

PTI, led by the cricketer-turned politician Imran Khan, is emerging the second largest party with 37 seats.

PPP is placed third in the race with lead in 33 National Assembly seats, mostly in southern Sindh province. The PPP candidates are also showing good results in southern parts of Punjab.

Independent candidates are on upper hand on 22 seats across Pakistan while Jamiat ulema—e—Islam (JUI—F) party is in lead on 11 seats. JUI—F is leading mainly in northwest Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and southwestern Balochistan.

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement or MQM is ahead of its rival on eight seats in the port city of Karachi.

Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) party is leading on five seats, all in Punjab.

Jamaat-e-Isalmi party is heading to victory on three seats, all in Khyber Pakhutunkhwa, the unofficial results suggest.

The ethnic Pashtun Awami National Party (ANP), which ruled the Khyber Pakhtukhwa province over the past five year, is not leading in any part of the country.

Out of 272 seats of the 342-member National Assembly, elections were held in 268 constituencies as four National Assembly seats remained uncontested due to death of candidates and poor law and order situation.

Election on special seats for women and minorities will be determined later on the basis of seats the parties get in general elections.