Five parliamentarians from India met Speaker of Sri Lankan Parliament Chamal Rajapaksa and External Affairs Minister G.L. Peiris here on Tuesday, it is reliably learnt.

They arrived on Monday night.

Sources in the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI), which organised the trip, refused to divulge details of their agenda or the outcome of the meetings.

After spending the morning in Parliament, the delegation left for Jaffna to review projects supported by the Indian government, particularly the housing initiative.

The delegation comprised Saugata Roy (Trinamool Congress), Sandeep Dikshit (Congress), Anurag Thakur (BJP), Dhananjay Singh (BSP) and Prakash Javadekar (BJP).

Madhu Goud Yaskhi (Congress), who was also supposed to come, could not make it.

The FICCI sources attributed the cancellation of his trip to “party work ahead of Karnataka Assembly elections.”

The delegation is here to participate in ‘Track Two political dialogue’ between parliamentarians of the two countries.