Poland’s president has completed his country’s ratification of the European Union reform treaty — leaving the Czech Republic as the only nation yet to sign on the agreement.

President Lech Kaczynski signed Poland’s ratification of the so-called Lisbon Treaty on Saturday at a ceremony attended by European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso.

Poland’s parliament overwhelmingly approved the treaty last year, but Mr. Kaczynski’s signature was still needed.

To come into force, it must be ratified by all 27 EU nations. Czech President Vaclav Klaus has not yet signed it.

More In: International | News