Organisers of the Hockey India League (HIL) can heave a sigh of relief as the recent acrimony between India and Pakistan over Line of Control violations has not affected the visa prospects of the Pakistani players.

The nine players from Pakistan selected for different teams in the HIL — beginning on January 14 — were issued visas on Thursday. In fact, the visas were issued on short notice as their applications were received only this week.

The nine players headed for India are: Muhammad Irfan and Shafaq Rasool for Ranchi Rhinos; Kashif Shah for Punjab Warriors; Fareed Ahmed, Mohammad Tausiq, Mahmood Rashid and Imran Butt for Mumbai Magicians; and Muhammad Rizwan (Jr) and Muhammad Rizwan (Sr) for Delhi Waveriders.

More In: International | News