Barack Obama on Wednesday became the fourth U.S. President to win the Nobel Prize for Peace.

The other three are:

— Theodore Roosevelt (1906) “for his successful mediation to end the Russo-Japanese war and for his interest in arbitration, having provided the Hague arbitration court with its very first case“

— Woodrow Wilson (1919) as “founder of the League of Nations“

— Jimmy Carter (2002) “for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development“

Roosevelt and Wilson won the honour while in office and Mr. Carter 21 years after demitting office in 1981.

More In: International | News