Nepal’s State Restructuring Commission tasked to suggest an appropriate federal model has submitted two reports to the government, with one recommending establishment of 11 states while the other proposing a six-state formula.

The Commission formed on November 23, last year was formed to suggest an appropriate federation model but since the members of the panel represent different political parties, they failed to forge consensus in submitting the report. Presently, Nepal is divided into 14 zones and 75 districts, grouped into five development regions.

The first report submitted by the majority faction suggested 11 federal states while the second report representing minority faction of the commission suggested six federal structures, according to officials.

The main report has advised the government to divide the country into 11 provinces with priority rights to dominant ethnic groups at the local level.

The 11 provinces include Karnali-Khaptad, Madhes-Abadh-Tharuwan, Magrat, Tamuwan, Narayani, Newa, Tamsaling, Kirat, Limbuwan, Madhes-Mithila-Bhojpura and one non-territorial Dalit state.

The report prepared by the dissenting members has suggested the government to divide the country into six provinces including two in the plains and four in hills and mountains on the basis of economic viability.

As for the residual power, the minority group has advocated for the power to be vested with the centre, while the majority group wants the issue to be resolved by either the centre or state depending on origin of the problem.

SRC chairman Madan Praiyar submitted the majority report to the Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai yesterday while member of the commission Ramesh Dhungel submitted another parallel report on behalf of the minority group on the same day.

More In: International | News