The Unified Communist Party of Nepal (Maoists) on Friday completed the task of declaring 13 autonomous states for the country in the face of major opposition.

The ruling parties termed the declaration of the states unconstitutional as the Constituent Assembly has a State Restructuring Committee working on the organisation of states.

The Maoists have declared Limbuwan, Kochila, Kirat, Sherpa, Bheri-Karnali, Tharuwan, Seti-Mahakali, Tamsaling, Newa, Bhote, Magarat, Tamuwan and Madhes as autonomous states.

More In: International | News