Police make arrangements even for victory rally

The territorial administration has put in place elaborate security arrangements to ensure peaceful counting of votes for the sole Puducherry Lok Sabha constituency.

Over 1,000 policemen are stationed at the four counting centres in Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam and Mahe.

The counting will be held at Bharathidasan Government College for Women, Muthialpet, Arignar Anna Government Arts and Science College, Karaikal, Jawaharlal Nehru Government Higher Secondary School, Mahe and a conference hall in Yanam.

“A three-tier security arrangement is in place at each counting centre in order to ensure peaceful counting of votes,” Praveer Ranjan, Inspector General of Police told The Hindu.

Each counting centre is being manned by personnel from local police, State Armed Police and Central Armed Police Force. Only authorised persons will be allowed to go inside the counting centre.

Thinking a bit ahead, the police have even made arrangements for the winning candidate to take out the traditional victory rally once the final results are notified.

T. Sreekanth, Chief Electoral Officer, S.B. Deepak Kumar, District Collector and District Election Officer and Election Observer on Thursday reviewed the arrangements at counting centres. IP cameras have been installed in each counting hall for an overview recording of the events at the hall. A 100-meter periphery around the counting centre has been demarcated as pedestrian zone and traffic police have also made alternate arrangements near the counting venues.

The counting of postal ballots would be taken up at 8.a.m. After the conclusion of it, the counting of votes recorded in EVMs would begin.

Union Minister for State in Prime Minister Office, V. Narayanasamy is contesting for a second term in this Lok Sabha seat where 29 other candidates contested in the polls held on April 24. The lone Lok Sabha seat of Puducherry has an electorate of 8.85 lakh voters.

Whichever way the results unfold, they are likely to be seen as a marker of the popularity of the three years of governance by the AINRC, led by Chief Minister N. Rangasamy, which rode to power in 2011 just two months after breaking away from the Congress fold.

More In: Puducherry