On Saturday, Union Minister of State for the Prime Minister’s Office V. Narayanasamy filed his nomination along with AINRC candidate R. Radhakrishnan, PMK candidate R.K.R Anandaraman and DMK candidate A.M.H Nazeem.

Saturday was the last day to file nomination, and a total of 41 candidates filed papers and on the day. As many as 23 candidates submitted their affidavits.

Of the total number of candidates, 26 are Independents and the remaining are from the CPI (ML), CPI, AIADMK, AAP, BSP, SP, Janata Dal (United), PMK, DMK, Congress and AINRC, a release from the Elections Department said.

Scrutiny of nominations would be taken up on April 7 by Returning Officer S.B. Deepak Kumar. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 9. The expenditure monitoring team and general observers for scrutiny of nominations are on the job.

In order to monitor law and order situation, a total of 49 flying squads and 37 static surveillance teams are in place, the release said.

More In: Puducherry