Shruthi Sreedharan, a postgraduate student at Thunchathu Ezhuthachan Malayalam University, shared the 7 Kuttettan award for poetry with Abhirami E., a 10 standard student of Savio Higher Secondary School, Kozhikode.

The award for short story has been bagged by Nasri P.M., from Wayanad. The consolation prize for poetry was bagged by Nidhin P.N. from Thrissur while Dhanusha from Palakkad bagged the consolation prize for short story.

The Kutetttan award instituted by the Kunhunni Anusmarana Samithi is given every year in memory of Kunhunni Master, poet and teacher, for budding writers.

The first prizes constitute Rs.3,000, memento and citation while the consolation prize winners would get books worth Rs.1001, memento and citation.

The awards would be distributed at a function to be held at Kunhunni Master’s house at Valappad on May 1 at 2 p.m.

The awards would be given away by poet S. Rameshan Nair. Poet Alankode Leelakrishnan would deliver the Kunhunni commemoration address. Story writer Gokuldas would preside over the function, a press release said.

More In: Kozhikode