Revathi Pattathana Samithi awards to be presented on November 15

The Revathi Pattathana Samithi, which organises Revathi Pattathanam every year, has decided to confer its awards on poet Ponnagode Gopalakrishnan, Krishnanattam artiste V. Unnikrishnan, and M. Abdul Salam, Vice Chancellor of Calicut University. The awards will be presented on November 15 when Revathi Pattathanam is being celebrated. Revathi Pattathanam is being organised to keep alive memories of the scholars’ meet that used to be held during the reign of the Zamorins. Mr. Gopalakrishnan is being honoured with Krishnageethi Award for his poem ‘Idam Na Mama’ and Mr. Unnikrishnan gets the award for the best temple artiste for his various roles.

The Karmashreshta Award, which has been given to Dr. Abdul Salam, is being introduced from this year.

Preparations for the event have already started. As a curtain-raiser, Rigveda Laksharchana was held at the Tali Mahadeva temple from November 5 to 10. A competition in Sanskrit for students and a seminar were held on November 9 and 10. A procession announcing Revathi Pattathanam will be held on November 14 from near the Tali Mahadeva temple. On Pattathanam Day a Vedic scholar to be chosen by Kudalloor Namboodiripad swould be honoured by Zamorin Sree Mana Vikraman Raja with a purse. The Zamorin and Jayendra Saraswathi Swami would be ceremoniously ushered into the Zamorin Guruvayurappan hall, the venue of Revathi Pattathanam.

More In: Kozhikode