56 accused facing trial being questioned from August 2

The questioning of accused in the T.P. Chandrasekharan murder case was completed at the Special Additional Sessions Court (Marad Cases) in Kozhikode on Tuesday.

This was done under Section 313 (power to examine the accused) under Code of Criminal Procedure (Cr.PC). R. Narayana Pisharadi, judge, had begun questioning the 56 accused now facing trial on August 2. The case pertained to a seven-member gang allegedly hired by the CPI(M) hacking to death the RMP leader Chandrasekharan at Vallikkad on May 4, 2012.

The seven assailants had been questioned for their role in the direct action while the others including CPI (M) leaders from Kozhikode and Kannur districts, for conspiracy charges. All of them had denied the offences charged against them. The statements of the accused were recorded based on a prepared questionnaire.

On Wednesday, the judge will decide the acquittal of any of the accused depending on the evidence adduced so far. This is being considered under Section 232 ( if, after taking the evidence for the prosecution, examining the accused and hearing the prosecution and the defence on the point, the judge considers that there is no evidence that the accused committed the offence, the judge shall record an order of acquittal) of the Cr.PC.

Previously the court before framing charges against the accused discharged Kariyath Valsan (54 accused) and K. Madanan (61 accused) as it found no sufficient materials to proceed against them.

The CPI (M) leaders who are facing trial are K.C. Ramachandran (eighth accused), member of the Kunnummakkara local committee; P.K. Kunhanandan (13th accused), member, Panur area committee; P. Mohanan (14th accused), member, Kozhikode district secretariat; K. K. Krishnan (10 accused), member, Onchiyam area committee; Padayankandi Ravindran (30 accused), member, Orkatteri local committee member; Manojan aka Trouser Manojan (11th accused), Kadanganpoyil branch secretary; C. Jyothi Babu (12th accused), member, Kunnothuparamba local committee and Shaji E.M. (23 accused), secretary, Kallamala West branch; Karayi Rajan (26 accused), member, Kannur district secretariat, Chalil Babu (42 accused), office secretary, Koothuparamba area committee and K. Dhananjayan (70 accused)), secretary, Koothuparamba area committee.

The next procedure is the court asking the defence counsel to submit a list of witnesses under Section 233 (entering upon defence) of the Cr.PC to adduce any evidence if any to prove the innocence of the accused.

Initially the special police team submitted a list of 76 accused in the case. C.H. Askokan, former secretary, Onchiyam area committee, who was named 9 accused, died during trial. Two others are absconding. Earlier the Kerala High Court in January stayed the trial proceedings against 15 accused.

More In: Kozhikode