Sessions Court Judge prepares questionnaire for the purpose

The questioning of Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI-M] leaders who have been arraigned as accused in the killing of Revolutionary Marxist Party (RMP) leader T.P. Chandrasekharan, under Section 313 (power to examine the accused) under the Code of Criminal Procedure, will begin on Monday.

R. Narayana Pisharadi, judge, Special Additional Sessions Court, has scheduled the list of accused to be questioned as well as prepared the questionnaire for the purpose. Chandrasekharan was killed allegedly by a gang hired by the CPI (M) leaders at Vallikkad, near Onchiyam, on May 4, 2012.

Official sources said most of these leaders were involved in hatching the conspiracy. K.C. Ramachandran (eighth accused), member of the Kunnummakkara local committee of the CPI(M); P.K. Kunhanandan (13th accused), member of the Panur area committee; and P. Mohanan (14th accused), Kozhikode district secretariat member; will be questioned on Monday.

According to the prosecution, Mohanan, C.H. Ashokan (9 accused who expired), former secretary, Onchiyam area committee; K. K. Krishnan, member of the same committee; and Ramachandran had hatched the conspiracy at a flower shop owned by M.K. Ravindran aka Padayankandi Ravindran, Orkatteri local committee member, at Orkatteri town on April 2, 2012.

Kunhanandan reportedly linked two killer gangs led by Manoj Kumar aka Kirmani Manoj (second accused), and N.K. Sunil Kumar, alias Kodi Suni (third accused), for the conspirators.

Along with the CPI (M) leaders, C. Rajith (27th accused) will also be questioned. He was charged with obtaining and entrusting the swords for killing Chandrasekharan to Kodi Suni between April 24, 2012 and May 4, 2012 as well as assisting the other accused in identifying Chandrasekharan at Orkatteri town on May 2 and May 3, 2012.

Krishnan (10th accused), Manojan aka Trouser Manojan (11th accused), Kadanganpoyil branch secretary; and C. Jyothi Babu (12th accused), member of the Kunnothuparamba local committee; will be questioned on Tuesday. P. Ajesh aka Kajoor (15th accused); P.C. Shibu (16 accused); and K. Sreejith (17th accused); will be questioned on that day.

More In: Kozhikode