Award in memory of poet and teacher Kunhunni Master

The sixth edition of Kuttettan Literature Prize, instituted by the Kunhunni Anusamarana Samithi in memory of poet and teacher Kunhunni Master, has been announced.

Kunhunni master had been handling the column that promoted writing skills in children in Mathrubhumi weekly under the pen name ‘Kuttettan’ and hence the name of the award.

Poetry awards

Aparna Chitrakam from Kozhikode bagged the first prize for poetry through her poem ‘Akalathe Aakasham’ while Keerthana Sasi, Althaf P. and Fasila Salim shared the second prize.

In the short story category, Sithara Sathar from Kozhikode bagged the first prize for her story ‘Manalkkara’ while Rahul R. Sharma and Uma Madhu shared the second prize.

Essay awards

Sona Bhaskaran from Kannur bagged the first prize in the essay competition under the title ‘Njan Sahityakaranakan Agrahikkunnathinu Pinnil’ (The reason behind my wanting to be a litterateur). M. Devadarsan and Swathi T.P. shared the second prize in the category.

The winners were selected by a judging panel comprising Alankode Leelakrishnan, Kalpetta Narayanan, K.V. Anoop, Latheef Parambil, and Ganesh Panniyath.

The first prize winners will get a memento designed by artist Madanan, citation, and books worth Rs.1000.

At Athiyarath

The awards will be distributed at a programme to commemorate Kunhunni master to be held at his former residence ‘Athiyarath’ at 3 p.m. on April 19.

Poet Alankode Leelaikrishnan will give away the prizes. Consolation prizes for the second prize winners will also be distributed on the occasion.

Kalpetta Narayanan will deliver the Kunhunni master commemoration lecture on the occasion.

More In: Kozhikode