Votes polled for two LS seats to be counted at three centres

The counting of votes for the two Lok Sabha (LS) seats, Kozhikode and Vadakara, will begin in the district at 8 a.m. on Friday.

Postal votes will be counted first. The trend will be known by 8.30 a.m. itself and the results will be declared by afternoon.

The counting of votes for the Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency will be held at Farook College at Feroke, and for the Vadakara constituency at JDT Islam Complex at Vellimadukunnu.

But the counting for the votes of the Thiruvambadi Assembly segment, which falls under the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency, will be held at Government Law College at Vellimadukunnu.

Kozhikode LS seat

The following are the Assembly-wise counting centres for Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency at the Farook College: Balussery (Training College Auditorium); Elathur (Training College Seminar Hall First Floor); Kozhikode North (Training College Seminar Hall Ground Floor); Kozhikode South (T.T.A. Seminar Hall - First Hall); Beypore ( High School Hall Second Floor Eastern side); Kunnamangalam (High School Hall second floor western side); Koduvally (High School hall, second floor eastern side building).


The following are the Assembly-wise counting centres for Vadakara Lok Sabha constituency at the JDT. Islam Complex: Thalassery (Dr. Mohammed Abduyamani Memorial Auditorium third floor northern side); Koothuparamba (Dr. Mohammed Abduyamani Memorial Auditorium third floor southern side); Vadakara (Al-Noori Nursing College auditorium second floor); Kuttiyadi (JDT.Islam Complex Auditorium western side); Nadapuram (JDT. Islam Complex Auditorium eastern side); Koyilandy (ITC Hall ground floor southern side) and Perambra ( Polytechnic auditorium).

The postal votes of both constituencies will be counted at Rouzathul Uloom Arabic College in the Farook College compound. The counting will be held under the supervision of the District Collector.

The postal votes will be re-counted if the margin of the winning candidate is less than the total number of postal votes.

The centres where the electronic voting machines were maintained for 36 days were given three-tier security by the Central paramilitary forces, State police, and monitoring officers.

Besides, the District Collector supervised the strong rooms at regular intervals.

The counting centres will have facilities such as Internet, fax, photo-copying and CCTV.

A media centre will function at the Collectorate conference hall.

Officials led by District Collector C.A. Latha, who is the District Election Officer, will reach the counting centres at 6 a.m.

100 officials

As many as 1,000 officials have been deployed for duty at the three centres.

She held a meeting with counting observers, election officials, and police officers to review the final stages of the preparations on Thursday. Election observers Asok Kumar Sanwariya, Raman Kumar, Mafiul Hussain, Arindam Tomar, Narasimha Raj and Suresh Paswan and Deputy Commissioner of Police K.B. Venugopal participated.

More In: Kozhikode