Kozhikode, Vadakara Lok Sabha constituencies

All arrangements are in place for the counting of votes for the two Lok Sabha constituencies in the district.

District Collector C.A. Latha, who is also the District Election Officer, said here on Wednesday that the counting of votes would take place at three centres. The counting of votes for the Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency will be held at Farook College and Vadakara constituency at J.D.T. Islam Complex at Vellimadukunnu. The counting of votes of the Thiruvambadi Assembly segment, which falls under the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency, will be held at Government Law College at Vellimadukunnu.

The District Collector will supervise the counting of votes from the Farook College. The postal votes of both constituencies will be counted at Rouzathul Uloom Arabic College in the Farook College compound. The votes will be counted in four tables each.

Seven halls have been arranged for counting of each Assembly segment-wise votes, she said.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Harrison Xavier on Wednesday visited the counting centres and reviewed the preparations. As many as 927 officials had been deployed for counting.

The appointment of counting agents had been completed. Officials and agents had been imparted training for the purpose, the Collector said.

Only assigned officials, candidates, and election and counting agents would be allowed into the counting centres. Agents should wear their identity card. Mobile phones would not be allowed inside the halls. Election Commission Observers could use the devices.

The counting of votes would take place in the presence of agents of the candidates. They would not be allowed to touch the electronic voting machines. Arrangements had been made to make the counting clearly visible to the agents.

The Election Commission had appointed six observers for the process. General observer for the Vadakara Lok Sabha constituency Asok Kumar Sanwariya had been given charge of the Koyilandy, Vadakara, Nadapuram, and Kuttiyadi Assembly segments while Mafiul Hussain would be in charge of the Perambra Assembly segment.

Arindam Tomar would be in charge of the Koothuparamba and Thalassery Assembly segments. General observer Raman Kumar would be in charge of the Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Balussery, and Elathur Assembly segments while Narasimha Raj would be in charge of the Koduvally, Beypore, and Kunnamangalam Assembly segments. Suresh Paswan would be in charge of the Thiruvambady segment.

More In: Kozhikode