The demand for Perambra taluk was first raised in 1986.

The agitation for Perambra taluk is being intensified by local people who have organised themselves under the banner of a hill area action committee.

Protesting against the denial of taluk status for Perambra, the action committee district chairman O.D. Thomas, the Perambra Development Committee president K.P.B. Krishnan and Malayora Mekhala Vikasana Samithi district president Joseph Ambatt told mediapersons on Monday there was no valid reason for the government to ignore the long-standing demand to form Perambra taluk covering Perambra, Nochad, Koorachund, Chakkittapara, Kottoor, Naduvannur, Arikulam, Koothali, Changaroth, Kuttiadi, Velam, Meppayur, Cheruvannur, Kavilumpara and Maruthongara panchayats. These are mostly hill areas of Koyilandy and Vadakara taluks in the district.

The demand for Perambra taluk was first raised in 1986. Yet Perambra’s claim was ignored when the United Democratic Front government announced formation of 12 taluks recently.

The hill area action committee believed Perambra had a strong claim to taluk-status, being the native place of former KPCC vice-president and former Minister K.G. Adiyodi, Congress leaders such as the late K. Raghavan, and P.C. Radhakrishnan, and former Minister P. Sankaran.

Signature campaigns had been conducted, a hill area hartal, and a 48-hour hunger fast observed, and several public meetings held to put pressure on the government to bestow taluk status for Perambra.

The Babu Paul committee appointed by the UDF government had also recommended taluk status on priority basis for Perambra.

“Because of denial of taluk-status, Perambra had lost several development projects of the government. We hold both the UDF and the LDF responsible for backwardness of Perambra,” the action committee leaders alleged and appealed to Union Minister of State for Home Mullappally Ramachandran and all other Congress leaders to support the demand.

More In: Kozhikode