23 from Kozhikode, 17 from Vadakara

Constituency watch: Kerala

Signalling a tight contest, 40 candidates have submitted their nomination papers from the Kozhikode and Vadakara constituencies to contest the Lok Sabha elections.

Saturday was the last date for submission.

From the Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency, 23 persons submitted their nomination papers. In the Vadakara constituency, the total number of persons who submitted their nomination is 17.

On Saturday alone, 13 candidates from the Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency submitted their nominations. From Vadakara, the number of nominations on the last day was eight. The scrutiny of the nomination papers would be held at the Collectorate on Monday.

The candidates

Those who submitted their nominations from the Kozhikode constituency included M.K. Raghavan (Congress), K.P. Ratheesh (Aam Aadmi Party), P.M. Suresh Babu (Independent), M. Raghavan (Independent), E.M. Raghavan (Independent), Vijayaraghavan (Independent), Shamseer (Independent), Mohammed Riyaz (Independent), N.K. Ramakrishnan (Independent), Vijaya Raghavan M. (Independent), Fayiz Mohammed (Independent), Aboobacker K.P. (Independent); and V.M. Raghavan (Independent)

Candidates who submitted their nomination papers at Vadakara included Sreedharan (BSP), Smithamol Ariyilmeethal (CPI-ML), Ramadas Kannoth (CPI-ML) Ali Akbar (Aam Aadmi Party), Rajan (BJP-dummy), Attuvalappil Kunjikannan (Independent) Shamseer (Independent) and Shamseer (Independent).