September 5 observed as University Day by staff

The Tamil Nadu MGR Medical University here will honour senior specialists and professors who continue to be an inspiration and guidance for today's doctors, on the occasion of Teachers' Day. September 5 is also observed as University Day by the staff and students.


Among those who will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards are: Saratha Kathiresan (Anatomy), Santha Ramachandran (Pharmacology), R.Nanjunda Rao (General Surgery), N.Rangabashyam (Surgical Gastroenterology), Panchanandam Madanagopalan (Pathology), K.Sriram (Orthopaedics), V.R.Parvathi (Paediatrics), Mathangi Ramakrishnan (Plastic Surgery), C.T.Alagappan (Orthopaedics), K.V.Thiruvengadam, A.M.Selvaraj, S.Balakrishnan, V.T.Balaraman (General Medicine), C.S.Lakshminarayana (Microbiology) M.G.Muthukumaraswamy and A.Venugopal (General Surgery), S.Kameswaran (ENT), N.Shanmugasundaram (Microbiology) and A.S.Thambiah (Dermatology).

The awards will be presented to the achievers in a function to be held at the university on Sunday. A total of 19 teachers in various fields, including Indian systems of medicine and nursing, will also be honoured on the occasion.


Medical varsity honours physicians, teachersSeptember 6, 2010