Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin on Monday handed over the Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) award for 2007-2008 and 2008-2009 to nine organisations for their exemplary work in rural and urban development.

Instituted by the Rural Development department, the award is meant for industrial units and commercial establishments and it takes into account their work in the last five years. Two years ago, Mr. Stalin announced the award scheme during the debate on demands for grants for the Rural Development and Local Administration departments. The award carried a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh and a citation.

For the year 2007-2008, the CSR award was given to Tamil Nadu Newsprint and Papers Limited, Karur; Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Karaikal, Puducherry; Srinivasan Services Trust, Chennai; Saint-Gobain Glass India, Sriperumpudur, Kancheepuram district and Sakthi Masala, Erode. For 2008-2009, it was presented to Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited (CPCL), Chennai; Steel Authority of India Limited, Salem; Orchid Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals Limited, Chennai and Sri Ramalinga Mills Limted, Aruppukottai, Virudhunagar.

K. Ashok Vardhan Shetty, Principal Secretary (Rural Development and Panchayat Raj) and Gagandeep Singh Bedi, Rural Development Commissioner, were among those present.

K.K. Acharya, CPCL managing director, who received the award, presented to Mr. Stalin a cheque for Rs. 10 lakh towards the Chief Minister’s Public Relief Fund.