S.R. Vijaya Kumar of AIADMK, on Friday, defeated former Union Minister Dayanidhi Maran by a margin of 45,811 votes in the Chennai Central Lok Sabha constituency. 

Dayanidhi Maran, who was elected from the constituency for the past two Lok Sabha elections, secured 2,87,485 votes this election.  

On Friday, AIADMK took the lead right from the first round of counting and maintained the lead till the end. The number of votes polled for AIADMK was higher than that for DMK in all the six Assembly segments of Anna Nagar, Harbour, Egmore, Villivakkam, Thousand Lights and Chepauk-Triplicane in the Lok Sabha constituency.

AIADMK also managed to make inroads into DMK strongholds such as the Chepauk-Triplicane segment, securing 596 votes more than DMK.  

AIADMK secured 22,765 votes more than DMK in the Anna Nagar segment, 10,230 votes more in Villivakkam and 8,111 more in Thousand Lights. DMDK candidate Constandine Ravindran secured 1,14,798 votes with remarkable performances in segments such as Harbour with a large number of linguistic minorities.

Of the 8,14,894 valid votes polled, AIADMK secured 3,33,296. As many as 21,959 voters opted for NOTA.