Maha Fine Arts and United Artists’ Association jointly organised an award function at Hotel Benz Park, T. Nagar, to facilitate the achievers of Tamil cinema. The awards were given in the name of two legendary stars — MGR and Sivaji.

Justice S. Jagadeesan, former judge of the Madras High Court, and Abirami Ramanathan, president, Tamil Theatre Owners’ Association, gave away the awards.

Nellai Sundararajan’s United Artists Association and Anuradha Jayaraman’s Maha Fine Arts has been honouring dedicated members of the cinema field for the past 30 years.


Director P. Vasu received the MGR Award; Thiagarajan received the Sivaji Award; J.J. Award went to Ramarajan; Saroja Devi Award to Sukanya; and Rajasulochana Award to Kasturi.

Justice S. Jagadeesan said: “New Year has begun on a bright note for the film personalities. I appreciate Nellai Sundararajan’s initiative of honouring the achievers.”

More In: Downtown | Chennai