The Trust celebrated Swami Sri Sathya Sai Baba’s birthday on November 23.

To mark the occasion of Swami Sri Sathya Sai Baba’s birthday on November 23, ‘Bharathanjali Trust’ celebrated ‘Aradhana’ at Obul Reddy Hall, Vani Mahal, T. Nagar. The Trust also honoured exponents and upcoming artistes in the field of Fine Arts.

Throughout the function, the audience enjoyed a feast, for their eyes and ears, with harmonious music and dance. Slokas were chanted by tiny tots, led by a senior student Jayalakshmi.

A few senior students and faculty of Bharathanjali, Medha Hari and Sathvikaa Shankar, performed captivating ‘Ardanari Thandavam’, Pathanchali munivar’s Shambu Nadanam and ‘Hanumar Kavuthuvam’ composed by Sri. P.R. Venkatasubramaniam.

Pavitra Bhat, a vibrant performer from Mumbai, student of Sri. Deepak Mazumdar and Smt. Anitha Guha, presented a Swathi Thirunal krithi – ‘Bansee Vale’, choreography of Sri. Deepak Mazumdar.

The students also performed Ganesha vandhanam and a keerthanam. The programme concluded with a scintillating thillana, by Medha Hari and Sathvikka Shankar, a composition of Sri. P.R. Venkatasubramaniam.

While thanking Bharathanjali, Dr.Smt. Jaya Venugopal said Anitha teaches her students like how a mother teaches her child and thus she is equivalent to 1,000 upadhyayas.

The chief guests of the function were Kalaimamani. Prof. N.S. Jayalakshmi, Senior Guru, Kalakshetra; and Sri V.V. Sundaram of Cleveland.

Mr. Sundaram congratulated the awardees and spoke in detail about Dr. Smt. Jaya Venugopal, an award recipient, and her website

Smt. N.S. Jayalakshmi congratulated the awardees and made a special mention of the dancers’ impeccable coordination. Revathi Sankaran welcomed the gathering and Smt. Anitha and Sri. Natesan, Trustee and Father of Anitha Guha honoured the chief guests.

The awardees including; P.S. Padmanabhan (Secretary, Mylapore Fine Arts); Dr. Jaya Venugopal (Educationist and Social Scientist, Director INCERT and AIMS); Dr. Ambika Kameshwar (Director, RASA); Sujatha Mohan (Dancer, teacher and choreographer); Preethy Mahesh (Vocalist, Graded artist of All India Radio); Jayashree Ramanathan (Dancer, Nattuvangam and faculty of Bharathanjali); Ranjani Ramakrishnan (Violinist); R. Suresh (Mridangam, Tabla and Rhythm pad); Bhargavi Balasubramanian (Vocalist, Instrumentalist); Sumithra Subramaniam (Young talented performer); were felicitated and the citations were presented to them by the chief guests

More In: Downtown | Chennai