The government has constituted the Syndicate of Anna University, Chennai, by nominating 11 members. The Syndicate will begin the process of selecting the next Vice-Chancellor of the State’s premier technical university.

In an order, T.S. Sridhar, Additional Chief Secretary, Higher Education Department, stated that the Syndicate had been constituted under Section 17 of the Anna University Act, 1978, with the Vice-Chancellor as the ex-officio chairman. The Secretaries of higher education, industries, information technology, law and the Director of Technical Education will be the ex-officio members.

B. Santhanam, managing director, Saint Gobain Glass India Limited, has been nominated as the member representing the industry and Karumuthu T. Kannan of Thiyagarajar Engineering College, as a member representing research institutions with special knowledge and practical experience in industry and commerce.

S. Karuppusamy of Kongu Engineering College and V. Lakshmi Prabha of Government Engineering College, Coimbatore, are the two members nominated from among the principals of affiliated colleges. S. Malarvizhi, managing trustee, Sri Krishna College of Engineering and Technology, Coimbatore, and M.V. Muthuramalingam, chairman, Velammal Engineering College, Madurai, are the two members nominated from the management of affiliated engineering colleges.

The members of the Syndicate, other than the ex-officio members, will hold office for a period of three years.

More In: Chennai | News