Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

Cities » Chennai

Updated: June 3, 2010 00:16 IST

AIADMK fields Manoj Pandian, Ramalingam for Rajya Sabha polls

Special Correspondent
Share  ·   Comment   ·   print   ·  
P.H.Manoj Pandian
The Hindu P.H.Manoj Pandian

The AIADMK has nominated former MLA P.H. Manoj Pandian and the party's Erode city district unit secretary K.V. Ramalingam as candidates for the election to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

Mr. Manoj Pandian is the son of former Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P.H. Pandian. He was elected to the Assembly from Cheranmahadevi constituency in 2001, but failed to retain the seat in the 2006 election.

He is the secretary of the AIADMK's advocate wing.

K.V. Ramalingam's nomination has come after senior leader S. Muthusamy and his supporters in the Erode region were expelled from the primary membership of the AIADMK.

Nominations filed

Early on Wednesday, the three DMK candidates, K.P. Ramalingam, T.M. Selvaganapathy and S Thangavelu, filed their nominations before the Tamil Nadu Assembly Secretary M. Selvaraj.

Deputy Chief Minister M.K. Stalin and Union Fertilizers Minister M.K. Alagiri were present.

According to the affidavits, K.P. Ramalingam and his wife have Rs. 6,000 in cash, Rs. 29 lakh in bank deposits, Rs. 30 lakh worth insurance policies and savings, Rs. 4.01 crore worth of lands, houses and commercial establishments.

In his affidavit, Mr. Selvaganapathy said he had been acquitted of all charges in two cases and three cases were pending against him. He, his wife, and two sons have Rs. 18.5 lakh in cash. Their properties in land, houses and commercial complexes were worth Rs 4.31 crore. Mr. Selvaganathapthy has dues amounting to Rs. 39 lakh.

Fifty-six-year-old S Thangavelu and his family have assets in land and buildings worth Rs 1.5 crore. He has invested Rs 10 lakh in a petrol pump. The jewellery owned by his family is valued at Rs. 94 lakh.

The last date for filing of nominations is June 7 and the Rajya Sabha election is scheduled for June 17.

For the six seats, the DMK has nominated three candidates and the AIADMK two.

The Congress, part of the DMK combine in Tamil Nadu, is yet to name its candidate.

The seat is held by E.M. Sudarasana Natchiappan.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

ChennaiConnect Newsfeed



Recent Article in Chennai

Metro Rail’s migrant workers miss voting

Over 9,000 from several States working in Chennai »