Dr. Radhakrishnan awards presented to 359 school teachers

In recognition of their contribution to education, about 359 school teachers and six principals and lecturers from different parts of the State were presented with ‘Dr. Radhakrishnan Awards for 2009-2010,' on Sunday.

The award carrying a silver medal, a citation and cash incentive of Rs.5,000 was presented by Law Minister Durai Murugan, while Chennai District Collector V. Shobana handed over a cheque of Rs.6 lakh to Mr. Durai Murugan towards National Foundation for Teachers' Welfare.

School Education Minister Thangam Thennarasu said that the State government had been according prime importance to school education by increasing the funds allocation every year. Besides, it was also ever willing to help the school teachers.

“During the current year, the allocation has been increased to over Rs.10,147 crore, of which 80 per cent is earmarked for Teachers' welfare. The Chief Minister has asked me to solve school teachers' problems at the earliest,” he said. Appreciating the good work done by the School Education Department, Mr. Durai Murugan said that during the current year 8,903 vacant teachers post will be filled up.

He also said that the Rs.180 crore, Anna Centenary Library will be inaugurated by the Chief Minister on September 15. Built on the models of world class Alexandria library, it would be the biggest one in South East Asia. Besides, libraries are being set up in different parts of the State.