Most citizens in the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike limits have been given the voter slips, according to M. Lakshminarayana, District Election Officer and BBMP Commissioner. He told The Hindu on Wednesday that 95 per cent of voter slips have already been distributed to the eligible voters in the city. As many as 63.29 lakh voters in Bangalore North, Bangalore Central and Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituencies will exercise their franchise in the 7,712 polling stations across the city.

According to K.V. Trilok Chandra, Returning Officer, Bangalore South constituency, there has been 100 per cent distribution of voter slips in the constituency. “We started distributing the slips a week ago. The revenue officials have been successful in covering all the voters in the constituency,” he said.

He cautioned voters against taking mobile phones into the polling stations, especially those in the Bangalore South constituency. The VV PAT machines are being introduced on a trial basis in this constituency. “If voters take photographs or violate the secrecy requirement as per the Representation of Peoples Act, action will be initiated against them,” he said.

According to G.C. Prakash, Deputy Commissioner (Urban) and Returning Officer, Bangalore North constituency, 75 per cent voters in Bangalore Central Lok Sabha constituency and 90 per cent voters in Bangalore North constituency have been given voter slips. Those who have not got it can take it from the help desks outside the polling stations. “Each help desk will be manned by the Booth Level Officer. The voter slips that have not yet been distributed will be in his/her custody. However, citizens need just their Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) to vote and not voter slip,” he said.

More In: Bengaluru