After much delay, the four-member search committee to appoint the 16th Vice Chancellor (VC) of Bangalore University (BU) will finally meet on January 24. S.P. Hiremath, former VC of Kuvempu University is Chancellor H.R. Bhardwaj’s nominee, while Karnatak University VC S.K. Saidapur, is the government nominee, S.K. Joshi is the University Grants Commission (UGC) nominee, and Institute of Social and Economic Change (ISEC) director R.S. Deshpande the Syndicate’s nominee.


This time, the search committee will follow a set of new guidelines recently released by the Higher Education Department. The department’s criteria to shortlist candidates to the VC’s post included giving maximum weightage to research publications, academic performance, mobilisation of funds after joining university and performance.

Candidates will also be gauged based on a 1,000-word write-up on critical issues, strategies and their execution in the university, administrative capacity and the remarks of any two referees (of 10).


The search committee will shortlist three names along with all documents to the government. Regular updates on the procedure will be uploaded online.

More In: Bengaluru