All the events will have an exhibition match and band display

Polo enthusiasts here can look forward to some thrilling games as some of the top teams in the country are set to participate in Bangalore’s polo season starting from Tuesday.

This season will have four major tournaments spread over the next two weeks, with 11 teams participating in them.

The events are organised by the Agram Riding and Polo Academy (ARPA).

The are Army Service Corps, 61 Cavalry, Indian Navy, President Bodyguard, Remount Veterinary Corps, National Defence Academy, Armoured Corps Centre and School, Regiment of Artillery, Amateur Riding Club, Mumbai, Hyderabad Polo and Riding Club and Suneendra Sports Corporation, Hyderabad, a Defence Ministry communiqué said.

The teams will be vying for honours in Gyan Jyoti Polo Challenge Trophy (April 9 to April 13), a six-goal tournament, the Alliance University ARPA Polo Trophy (April 14 to April 16), a four-goal tournament, Army Commander’s Trophy (April 17 to April 20), an eight-goal tournament and the grand exhibition organised by Antriksh Group on April 20. A floodlit Inter City Arena Polo Trophy will be played on April 21.

All the events will also have an exhibition match and band display of Army Service Corps Centre and College.

ARPA has been synonymous with polo since 2003 when the Army Service Corps Centre and College took upon itself the mantle of promoting polo in the southern peninsula. The events at ARPA have helped showcase Bangalore as a vibrant equestrian destination in the country, the press release added.

More In: Bengaluru