Cities » Bengaluru

Updated: January 31, 2014 00:28 IST

Metro phase 2 will link more corners of city

Anil Kumar Sastry
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
The Hindu

Once it is complete, city will have a 114-km network

The Union Cabinet’s approval to Namma Metro Phase 2 on Thursday has paved the way for the city to have a metro network of 114 km.

Phase 2 will include extension of Phase 1 corridors as well as the construction of two new lines. Proposed work includes a 13.9-km underground stretch in the new 21.25-km Gottigere–Nagawara line. As part of Phase 2a, Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd. (BMRCL) is also considering connecting Kempegowda International Airport to Nagawara and the metro network on the outer ring roads.

The corporation has already begun the process of identifying land required for viaducts and coordinating with the Karnataka Industrial Area Development Board (KIADB) to issue the land acquisition notifications.

Speed breakers

However, given the slow progress of Namma Metro Phase 1, particularly in the underground section, one wonders whether BMRCL can complete Phase 2 in the five years given for its completion.

Besides, the project cost of Rs. 26,405 crore is the 2011–12 price level, which it is set to escalate at 5 per cent every year with increasing cost of inputs. The Union government will share that part of cost escalation due to increase in central levies, while the State and BMRCL have to bear any other escalation. With this, the total project cost is estimated to reach at least Rs. 30,000 crore at the beginning itself, believe experts.


Phase 2 will include two interchange stations: at Jayadeva and on M.G. Road, where the Gottigere–Nagawara line meets R.V. Road–Bommasandra and Byappanahalli (Whitefield)–Mysore Road Terminal (Kengeri) lines respectively.

The eastern extension from Byappanahalli to Whitefield is the lengthiest (15.5 km), with stations at Krishnarajapura, Narayanapura, Mahadevapura, Garudacharpalya, Doddanekkundi Industrial Estate, Visvesvaraya Industrial Estate, Kundalahalli, Vaidehi Hospital, Satya Sai Hospital, ITPL, Kadugodi Industrial Area and Ujwala Vidyalaya.

The western extension from Mysore Road Terminal to Kengeri (6.5 km) will have stations at Nayandahalli, Rajarajeshwari Arch, Bangalore University Gate and R.V. College of Engineering.

The 3.8 km-northern extension has stations at Manjunathanagar, Jindal and Bangalore International Exhibition Centre.

On the southern side, the extended line (6.3 km) has stations at Anjanapura Road, Krishnaleela Park, Vajarahalli, Talaghattapura and Anajanapura Township.

As for the new lines to be constructed, the Gottigere–Nagawara line (21.25 km) will go underground after passing Hulimavu, IIMB, J.P. Nagar and Jayadeva stations near Dairy Circle and resurface at Nagawara, with underground stations at Dairy Circle, Mico, Langford Town, Vellara Junction, M.G. Road, Shivajinagar, Cantonment Railway Station, Pottery Town, Tannery Road, Venkateshapura and Arabic College.

The new R.V. Road Terminal–Bommasandra line (18.82 km) will have stations at Ragigudda, Jayadeva, BTM Layout, Silk Board Junction, HSR Layout, Oxford College, Muneshwara Nagar, Chikka Begur, Hosa Road, Basapura Road, Electronics City I, Electronics City II, Hebbagodi and Huskur.

More In: Bengaluru
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor





Recent Article in Bengaluru

Three arrested on charge of running prostitution racket

The Central Crime Branch sleuths on Friday conducted a raid at a house in Hoskerehalli and arrested three women for allegedly running a p... »