Chairpersons to committees to be elected today

After several meetings and adjournments, the election to the 12 standing committees of the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) was held on Monday amidst chaos.

After being adjourned four times, every time due to lack of quorum, the election, which was scheduled to be held at 10 a.m., was held at 3.30 p.m.

All the 132 members, including councillors from the Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Janata Dal (Secular) and Independents, were elected unopposed to the 12 committees.

The BBMP councillors were kept in the dark till the last minute, sources claimed.

The legislators of the Congress, the Janata Dal (S) and the BJP held several rounds of meetings. This, they claimed, was to arrive at a consensus. “If we had allowed the councillors to submit their nominations and then conducted the elections, the whole process would have taken at least two days. The leaders of the three parties sat together and arrived at the decision. That is the reason why it took so long,” said a senior councillor, on the condition of anonymity.

With the members having been elected unopposed, decision has been taken on the chairpersons also.Mayor B.S. Sathyanarayana will hold the election to the post of chairpersons of the panels on Tuesday.

According to sources, the chairpersons are likely to be Aramane Nagar councillor M.S. Shivaprasad (Taxation and Finance), Konankunte councillor S. Shashirekha Jayaram (Public Health), Nagarbhavi councillor Umesh Shetty (Town Planning), Shakambarinagar councillor B. Somashekhar (Major Works), Banashankari Temple ward councillor A.H. Basavaraju (Ward Works), Chalavadipalya councillor Rekha Kadiresh (Accounts), Banaswadi councillor Kodanda Reddy (Education), Mangammanapalya councillor Syed Haseen Taj (Social Justice), Hampinagar councillor K. Chandrashekaraiah (Appeals), Yelahanka Satellite Town councillor M. Muniraju (Horticulture), Kaval Byrasandra councillor Y.R. Gowramma (Markets) and Laggere councillor Lakshmikanth Reddy (Administration).

More In: Bengaluru