1,112 polling stations will be established in five constituencies; BJP has violated model code of conduct in 12 cases

The Election Commission has ordered application of indelible ink on the right index finger of voters in the byelections scheduled to be held in the five Assembly constituencies in the State on August 18.

Addressing presspersons here on Thursday, State Chief Electoral Officer C.S. Suranjana said the Lok Sabha elections were held a few moths ago and the mark of the indelible ink could still remain on the left index finger of the voter. Hence, the decision to mark the right index finger in the byelections.

Moreover, elections were held recently for teachers’ organisations. To avoid any confusion, the Election Commission has instructed all polling officials to apply indelible ink on the index finger of the right hand of voter in byelections in Govindarajanagar, Kollegal, Ramanagara, Chitapur and Channapatna constituencies, he said.

A total of 1,112 polling stations would be established in the five constituencies. A total of 217 booths would be set up in Govindarajanagara, 197 in Kollegal, 251 in Ramanagara, 201 in Chitapur and 246 in Channapatna. About 7,500 polling personnel and 382 micro observers would be deployed to ensure peaceful poling.

Five companies of Tamil Nadu State Reserve Police would be deployed in the constituencies, the CEO said.

The police have registered 104 criminal cases in five constituencies and seized liquor, cash and goods worth Rs. 17.36 lakh. The ruling BJP has violated model code of conduct in 12 cases followed Congress (11), JD-S (5), BSP (2) and others (13). Constituency-wise, 13 cases have been registered in Ramanagara followed by Govindarajanagar (12), Chitapur (11), Channapatna (5) and Kollegal (2), he said.

Under the Negotiable Instrument Act and the Representation of the People Act, 1951, all government offices and business establishments have been instructed to declare holiday on the polling day to enable voters to cast their votes, Mr. Suranjana said.

Those voters who do not have Election Photo Identity Cards (EPIC), can exercise their votes by producing alternative documents such as passports, driving licenses, income tax identity cards, bank passbooks, ration cards etc. The voters’ list has been prepared on alphabetical order to easily find out voters’ names in the list, he said.

More In: Bengaluru