Honours for Yogesh, Radhika Pandit


The much-awaited State Film Awards for 2008-09 were conferred on 32 film personalities, including actors, technicians, playback singers as well as industry veterans at a star-studded event in the Koramangala Indoor Stadium here on Saturday.

The awardees were given a certificate, statuette and cash by Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa.

While the producers and directors of Kabaddi, Josh and Shankara Punyakoti got the three best film awards respectively, Mukhaputa and Chaitanya got the best social impact and children's film awards respectively. Ponnara Manasu (Kodava) and Sona (Lambani) got the best regional film awards.

The winners

Apart from Yogesh and Radhika Pandit, who got the Best Actor and Best Actress awards, the others honoured were M.K. Matha (Best Supporting Actor), Lakshmi (Best Supporting Actress), Raveendranath (Best Male Dubbing Artiste), Asha (Best Female Dubbing Artiste), Baragur Ramachandrappa (Best Storywriter), Suri (Best Scriptwriter), Hoopattanshetty and Narendra Babu (Best Dialogue Writer), K.M. Vishnuvardhan (Best Cinematographer), Abhiman (Best Music Composer), N. Kumar (Best Sound Recordist), K. Raju (Best Art Director), Deepu S. Kumar (Best Editing), Master Manoj Ovam (Best Male Child Artiste), Baby Saniya Iyer (Best Female Child Artiste), Chetan (Best Male Singer), Nandita (Best Female Singer) and Ravi Varma (Special Award).

When B. Saroja Devi was conferred the Dr. Rajkumar award, footage from her films such as Kittur Chennamma and Bhabruvahana was screened.

Similarly, while conferring the Puttanna Kanagal award to K.S.R. Das and the Dr. Vishnuvardhan award to A.R. Raju and R.N.K. Prasad, clippings from films they produced and worked on were shown to a hugely appreciative audience.


Addressing the gathering, actor Sudarshan said he was happy that Saroja Devi, who acted as his female lead in Veera Sankalpa, and his brother R.N.K. Prasad were receiving awards on the occasion.

Home Minister R. Ashok and actor-turned-politician Ambareesh released a souvenir brought out by the Department of Information.

Minister for Water Resources Basavaraj Bommai was present.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Nov 18, 2017 12:25:12 AM |