Six new regional transport offices (RTOs) including four in Bangalore and two assistant RTOs will be created during 2013-14 to cater to the increasing number of vehicles and improve revenue collection, said Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar on Friday.

Presenting the 2013-14 budget, Mr. Shettar said the new RTOs will be opened in Banashankari, Chamarajapet, R.T. Nagar and Marathalli in Bangalore and at Hubli and Suratkal (Dakshina Kannada district). New ARTOs will be opened at Dandeli in Uttara Kannada and Tarikere in Chickmaglur district.

The transport department will introduce e-payment system for payment of motor vehicle tax and fee within four months to minimise visit of the general public to RTOs. Also, online collection of vehicle registration data from authorised dealers will be introduced to provide speedy service, Mr. Shettar said. Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) programme will be introduced for implementation of paperless system in the department at a cost of Rs. 15 crore.

Mr. Shettar said feasibility reports will be prepared for construction of truck terminals at Hubli, Bijapur, Hassan, Chickmaglur, Raichur, Gulbarga, Belgaum, Bellary, Kolar, Shimoga, Davanagere, Chitradurga, Mangalore, Chickballapur, Ramanagar, Tumkur and Haveri. Automated driving test tracks will be established in Mangalore, Belgaum and Hospet at an estimated cost of Rs. 15 crore. Heavy vehicle driving training institutes will be established in Mangalore and Gulbarga at a cost of Rs. 30 crore.

The government, which earlier had provided tax sops and financial assistance to North West and North East Karnataka Road Transport Corporations, has not provided any assistance to these corporations in this budget.

The Transport Department is expected to exceed the targeted collection of Rs. 3,350 crore as motor vehicle tax during 2012-13. Mr. Shettar fixed Rs. 4,008 crore as the target for 2013-14 even as he provided Rs. 1,288 crore as the outlay for the department.