The Governor, H.R. Bhardwaj, on Tuesday nominated five persons to the Legislative Council even as four members were elected to the Upper house from the graduates and the teachers constituencies. The results of the elections that were held on June 20 were declared on Tuesday. The Janata Dal (S) bagged two seats while one each was won by the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The Chief Minister, Siddaramaiah, accompanied by some senior ministers, submitted a list of the persons to be nominated. The Governor, soon thereafter, empowered under Article 171 of the Constitution, nominated them thus ending speculation over whether the government would heed to the demand of the Opposition, especially the BJP, not to recommend the names of Congress members to the Legislative Council.

Among those nominated are the former Leader of the Opposition in the Council V.S. Ugrappa, the former MP Iqbal Ahmed Saradgi, Abdul Jabbar Khan (MLC), actor Jaimala and Ivan D’Souza.

The term of Mr Bhardwaj as the Governor is scheduled to end on June 29.

Election results

Janata Dal (S) candidate Puttanna achieved a hat-trick of wins by defeating BJP’s Neelaiah in the Bangalore Teachers constituency. BJP candidate S.V. Sankanur defeated Janata Dal (S) candidate Vasanth Horatti in the West Graduates constituency, while BJP’s chief whip in the Council K.H. Shivayogiswamy was defeated by Janata Dal (S) candidate Chowdareddy in the South-East Graduates constituency. BJP nominee Shashil Namoshi was defeated by Congress candidate Sharanappa Mattur in the North-East Teachers constituency.

More In: Bengaluru