The election to the long-pending Standing Committee on Taxation and Finance was held on Tuesday during the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike's monthly council meeting.

Of the seven councillors elected unanimously, four belong to the BJP, two from Congress and one from Janata Dal (Secular). They are P.N. Sadashiva (Sunkenahalli ward), M.G. Jayarathna (Sriramamandir), N. Veeranna (K.R. Puram) and G. Manjunath Raju (Kadu Malleswaram) from the BJP; Shakeela Muniraju (Dayanandnagar) and K. Chandrashekar (Hanumanthanagar) from the Congress; and T.A. Gayathri (Dodda Bidarakallu) from the Janata Dal (Secular).

Only one committee was formed on Tuesday to aid the early presentation of the BBMP budget. Without the budget, the councillors and engineers have not been able to take up works across the city.

The chairperson of the committee will be elected on Thursday and the budget will be presented within 20 days after that, Mayor S.K. Nataraj said.

Remaining panels

The remaining committees will be formed after the Bill to amend the Karnataka Municipal Corporations Act 1976, is approved in the ongoing Assembly session and by the Governor.

The number of members in each committee would be enhanced to 12 in each committee after the approval, he said.

More In: Bengaluru