CPI (M) wins some seats in Chickballapur, but fails in Kolar


The Communist Party of India (Marxist) candidates in taluk panchayat and zilla panchayat elections in Kolar district have failed to open their account. However, their comrades in neighbouring Chickballapur district succeeded in tasting some victory.

Narayanamma, who contested from Bagepalli Kasba zilla panchayat ward, emerged the lone CPI (M) nominee to register victory in ZP polls. The CPI (M) fielded candidates in 13 ZP wards in Chickballapur district.

Among the 43 taluk panchayat candidates who contested in the district, six nominees were elected. Three each of CPI (M) were elected to Gudibande and Bagepalli taluk panchayats.

Bagepalli Assembly constituency is a citadel of CPI (M) which returned its nominees several times to the Assembly in the past. The present CPI (M) State secretary, G.V. Sriram Reddy, represented this seat twice.

In Kolar, the CPI (M) fielded candidates in 20 taluk panchayat and five ZP seats. However none of them were elected.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Aug 21, 2017 6:08:04 AM |