The city police on Saturday filed a chargesheet in the April 17 Malleswaram bomb blast case naming 14 people as the accused.

Among the 14 accused are three — Panna Ismail, Bilal Malik and Police Fukruddin — who were recently arrested by the Tamil Nadu police at Puttur, Andhra Pradesh.

The chargesheet was submitted to the First Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Court here on Saturday.

According to the 7,445-page three-volume chargesheet, 260 witnesses were examined and 201 documents collated.

The police said that 18 people were injured in the blast near the BJP office in Malleswaram on April 17, while 23 vehicles and 56 buildings were damaged resulting in an estimated loss of Rs. 50 lakh.

All the accused named in the chargesheet are from Tamil Nadu.

The accused are Basheer (30), Kichan Buhari (38), Sait Azgar Ali ( 29), Rehamathulla, Valayil Hakeem (32), Syed Suleman (24), Suleman (31), Zulfikar Ali (24), Mohammed Salin (30), Panna Ismail (38), Bilal Malik (25), Fakruddin (38), Pravai Basha and Ali Khan Kutti.

The police sources said that the role of Panna Ismail, Bilal Malik, Police Fukruddin, Paravai Basha, Alikhan Kutti and few others in the terror attack is being probed further. Panna Ismail, who was nabbed after a fierce gun battle in Puttur, is believed to be the person who planted the bomb near the BJP office in Bangalore.

Those arrested in Puttur have not yet been brought to the city.

The suspects, Basheer and Peer Mohiddeen (39), were arrested from a lodge in Chennai while Kichan Buhari, who was sentenced in the 1998 Coimbatore blast case, was nabbed from Tirunelveli district of Tamil Nadu in April.

Among the five arrested, Peer Mohiddeen is the only one who has not been named so far in the chargesheet.

The case was registered in the Vyalikaval Police Station under various sections of the IPC, the Explosive Substances Act, 1908, and the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967, along with Section 4 of Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act 1984.

More In: Bengaluru