The Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) will soon take up construction of seven new depots, 12 bus stations and a few divisional workshops at a cost of Rs. 60 crore, Transport Minister and city in-charge Ramalinga Reddy has said.

He was speaking after inaugurating the new Vayu Vajra buses at Yeshwanthpur Traffic and Transit Management Centre (TTMC) here on Saturday.

A press release said the seven new bus depots would come up at Mandur, Sadaramangala, Nagadasanahalli, Devanahalli, Mathahalli, Sadenahalli and Anjanapura. The bus stations have been proposed at B.T.M. Layout, Kengeri Satellite Town, 10th Block of Nagarabhavi 2nd Stage, Vishveshwaraiah Layout 1st Block, ISRO Layout (under construction), Mallasandra (Bagalagunte), Hesarghatta, Yelahanka, Visvesvaraiah Layout, Anjanapura, Pillanna Garden and Muneshwara Block.

The BMTC has also proposed six TTMCs: at Hebbal, Jayanagar 4th ‘T’ Block, Kathriguppe, Electronic City, Yelahanka (Puttenahalli), Chikkabettahalli (M.S. Palya). The release added that BMTC had finalised a tender for the intelligent transport system in the city at a cost of Rs. 69.79 crore.

The new Vajra routes are Yeshwanthpur–ITPL, KHB quarters–ITPL, KBS–Doddaballapur, Yeshwanthpur–Sarjapur, KBS–J.P. Nagar, and Yeshwanthpur–Chandapur.


BMTC’s record takes a hitJuly 1, 2013

More In: Bengaluru