Results of those involved in malpractices will be annulled: BU vice-chancellor

In the thick of a storm for going ‘soft’ on erring teacher education colleges by allowing students from 47 such colleges to write the much-delayed first semester B.Ed exams, Bangalore University (BU) has decided to crack the whip on some of them.

Addressing a press conference here on Monday after visiting a few exam centres where the B.Ed exams got off to a start, Vice-Chancellor B. Thimme Gowda said that students of three colleges will not be allowed to write the exams from Tuesday as the BU authorities found large-scale anomalies in the admission registers of these colleges, which were strong pointers to the large number of off-campus students registered with them who allegedly came directly to write the exams without attending classes.

Some of them were not allowed to take the exam even on Monday.

As many as 5,490 students have registered for the exams, scheduled to go on till June 18.

In the dock

While all students of Gear Innovative B.Ed College will not be allowed to attend the exams from the second day, a section of students from St. Stephen’s College of Education and Padmashree College of Education will also not be allowed for the exams, Prof. Gowda said.

He announced that the results of students of Frank College of Education will be withheld, while those students who are found indulging in malpractices would have to face annulment of their results.

“If there is no signature in the admission register, the answer scripts of such students will be separated from the rest and they will be barred from writing the remaining exams,” Prof. Gowda added.

BU is aiming at bringing a conclusion to the B.Ed college mess by forming one ‘final’ expert committee comprising two former vice-chancellors, a KAS officer and an education expert.

“All the reports that have been submitted so far on the 47 category III and IV colleges will be given to the committee. The committee will submit a report latest by August to help BU take a final decision on whom to grant affiliation for 2013-14,” he said.