The deadlock over Bangalore University’s B.Ed. colleges refuses to be broken. While on the one hand, members of various student organisations demanded the disaffiliation of its various B.Ed. and M.Ed. colleges and demanded a CBI probe into irregularities, teacher education colleges have threatened to fight the implementation of the B.Ed. Task Force report which recommends the disaffiliation of 55 colleges.

Speaking to presspersons here on Tuesday, D.N. Nataraj, general secretary, Karnataka State Private B.Ed. College Principals’ and Lecturers’ Association, said more than 800 will be left unemployed if the colleges are disaffiliated as per the Task Force’s recommendation.

The Academic Council unanimously approved the Task Force’s report last year but the Syndicate, in its last meeting, decided to grant the colleges three months’ time before taking a final decision.

Ready to go to court

Mr. Nataraj trashed the Task Force report and said the association was ready to go to court if the colleges were disaffiliated.

The colleges have sought affiliation for 2012-13 from In-charge Registrar (Administration) T.D. Kemparaju.

Meanwhile, protesters from Student Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Students Federation (DSF), National Students’ Union of India (NSUI), Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI) and others said that were no basic facilities in these colleges and they did not have qualified teachers as well.

They claimed that students were admitted without any valid selection process — including through touts — and that they were made to sit for examinations without enough academic preparation.

They sought a CBI inquiry into the irregularities.

Bangalore University Acting Vice-Chancellor N. Rangaswamy said the memorandum stating the demands will be submitted to the Syndicate members who would take up the necessary action.

Course work

The Syndicate also resolved to reduce the Ph.D. course work to six months from the existing one year and to form a high-power committee for renewal of affiliations to its study centres. The committee will be headed by the Vice-Chancellor.